My first post as a married woman!

20130420-220525.jpg

It’s been a while since I’ve blogged, but I was busy in the final stages of wedding planning followed by wedding and honeymoon.

One of the traditional parts of Indian weddings is when the bride returns after the wedding to the groom’s parents’ home, she cooks a sweet dish for the family. I made suji halwa, a semolina based sweet dish where the grain is mixed with ghee and then a sugar syrup and has a polenta-like texture. I added nuts and raisins to the dish.

I was a little nervous to make this dish because I don’t usually make Indian desserts…I had my mom text me a recipe and snuck a look at my phone before going to my mother-in-law’s kitchen…

It turned out very very rich. Good. But very very rich. Though I guess that’s the way it’s supposed to be!

Leave a comment