Fiesta Pork Stew and the best Goya Rice ever

20130501-165747.jpg

As my new husband MTT and I try to save money for a down payment on a place to live, I find myself more conscious of the prices in the grocery store.

This is strange for me because my usual fascination with the grocery store, other than my love of cooking, is the ability to buy anything in the store. Even if it’s expensive for what it is, you can buy it. Do you *need* an eight dollar bottle of fancy jam? No. But will eight dollars make or break you? Probably not. So, one time, if on a whim you decide to go for it, you can.

That was my philosophy anyway.

Now, I realize that every dollar counts and it all adds up. So the meat I buy may more frequently be the meat on sale.

This week, there was a good deal on pork stew meat. MTT doesn’t love pork, but he loves Mexican flavors. So I decided to cook sliced bell peppers, onions and pork in a flavorful Mexican marinade and served it with a side of rice cooked with Goya Sazon. MTT thinks it’s the best rice he’s ever had

Leave a Reply

