Greek Calzones

20130128-195733.jpg

A few days ago I had made a crock pot lamb stew flavored with rosemary, thyme and other Mediterranean flavors.

Since slow cooked recipes often result in leftovers, I was pondering what to do with my over-tender lamb…since I had a delicious fresh feta and all the ingredients for tzatziki I decided to make a Greek calzone.

I filled pizza dough with my tomato-onion-feta mixture and baked for a half hour. When it came out of the oven I served it hot with tzatziki.

This dish was warm, hearty and filling on a cold winter night. And, I was grateful I found a new flavor spin for my leftovers 🙂

Leave a Reply

