Dill Overdone

20130127-172233.jpg

On a lazy Sunday I was webbrowsing and came across a recipe for baked cheese balls. The recipe calls for any semi-hard cheese and I mistakingly thought that cheddar would qualify. MTT loves cheddar and I had some in the fridge. The recipe called for seasoning with dill… MTT loves dill and I had some fresh dill in the fridge. It’s always such a challenge to use fresh herbs before they go bad so I jumped at the chance to make this recipe.

I never stopped to think how the dill would taste with the cheddar. Usually it’s a great combination in breads and scones. Somehow today it didn’t taste right.

I also never stopped to read the comments on the recipe. If I had, I would have known that cheddar would melt in the oven on this recipe. I realized this 10 min into baking time and ran to the oven and turned down the temperature and then ultimately just took them out of the oven.

They were soft but held their shape. But the taste was off. Maybe I used too much dill. Maybe the cheddar balls just didn’t have enough balance. Maybe next time I will wrap the balls in dough.

For now, this will be filed as a misadventure.

One thought on “Dill Overdone

  1. Pingback: The Colonel Ain’t Got Nothin’ on Me | Now We're Cooking With Ghee!

Leave a Reply

