Rainy Day BBQ

Fall is my favorite season…warm but not hot, nice breezes, beautiful foliage…and, in my opinion, the best time to BBQ.

We had planned for a fun, Friday BBQ and had bought so much to prepare. Of course, charcoal, lighter fluid, matches etc. And the fun foods: burgers (beef for the guests, and some ground lamb for me to make lamb burgers for myself and the more adventurous guests), hot dogs, chicken drumsticks, corn on the cob….

I was so excited.

And then, it rained. Not a light drizzle, or a transient rainfall, but a torrential downpour. So we moved the BBQ to our apartment. Our small, cozy, barely tidy apartment. It was the first time we had guests.

I didn’t take pictures, as we were entertaining…but it is good to know a few things.

First, we actually can have people over to our small apartment and it’s not a total disaster.

Second, you can create a pretty good approximation of a BBQ in the kitchen.

I baked then broiled BBQ chicken drumsticks, I broiled hot dogs and buns, and I made my burgers on a scalding hot frying pan.

The results were amazing…and the upside was I could also make fresh baked coconut cup cakes while everyone was digesting dinner.

And, most importantly, we still got together with our friends.

Leave a Reply

